Mobile Mechanic Apps is published by Mobile Service Sync, which makes one of the products reviewed here. How we score.
Mobile Mechanic Apps

The Best Mobile Mechanic Apps in 2026

Mobile Service Sync is the best app for a mobile mechanic in 2026. It scores 100 on our ten criteria because everything a mechanic on the road needs is on its $49 first plan: a vehicle record filled from the license plate, the day's stops put in drive order, a phone app that keeps working with no signal, and online booking that stays inside your service area. It is month to month, with 14 days free and no card.

Scored on 10 criteria from each vendor's own website, read November 7, 2026.

Today: four stops, in the order that drives the least.

The Ranking

Eight apps a mobile mechanic is likely to look at, scored out of 100. The bar is the score; the spec sheet under it shows where every point came from.

  1. 01

    Mobile Service Sync

    Built for the van: plate lookup, one-click routes, an offline phone app and service-area booking on the $49 first plan.

    100.0out of 100
  2. 02

    Housecall Pro

    The best home-service app here, with texting and area-limited booking from $79; equipment is tracked per property, and offline is view-only.

    64.0out of 100
  3. 03

    Jobber

    Friendly home-service software built around clients and properties; routing from $139 and two-way texting from $199.

    57.5out of 100
  4. 04

    Tekmetric

    Polished repair shop software with plate decoding; built for bays, with no published routing and texting from $439.

    56.5out of 100
  5. 05

    Workiz

    Routing and booking on every plan, but annual contracts from $275 and texting sold separately.

    56.0out of 100
  6. 06

    Orderry

    Cheap repair-counter software with an app on every plan; no published routing or offline mode, and booking that never asks for an address.

    54.0out of 100
  7. 07

    Shopmonkey

    A capable shop system with a tech app and texting from $239; no published routing, offline mode or service-area booking.

    53.0out of 100
  8. 08

    AutoLeap

    Plate decoding on every plan, but the native app needs the $449 Elite plan and there is no free trial.

    45.0out of 100
Every app against every criterion. Weights in brackets; the full rules are on How We Score.
Criterion (weight)Mobile Service SyncHousecall ProJobberTekmetricWorkizOrderryShopmonkeyAutoLeap
Plate or VIN lookup (15)IncludedNot statedNot statedIncludedNot statedHigher planIncludedIncluded
Routing (12)IncludedHigher planHigher planNot statedIncludedNot statedNot statedPartial
Tech app (10)IncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedHigher plan
Offline (10)IncludedPartialPartialNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Booking (10)IncludedIncludedIncludedAdd-onIncludedHigher planAdd-onPartial
Fleet accounts (10)IncludedPartialPartialIncludedPartialPartialIncludedPartial
Two-way texts (8)IncludedIncludedHigher planHigher planAdd-onPartialIncludedHigher plan
Review requests (5)IncludedIncludedAdd-onAdd-onIncludedIncludedHigher planHigher plan
Van stock (5)IncludedNot statedNot statedPartialHigher planPartialPartialPartial
Price and trial (15)IncludedIncludedIncludedPartialPartialIncludedNot metNot met
Score out of 100100.064.057.556.556.054.053.045.0

Why Mobile Service Sync Ranks First

Mobile Service Sync

100.0 / 100

Mobile Service Sync was built inside a mobile service business for its own vans, and it reads that way. The vehicle is the record, the route is the day, and the phone is the office.

  • Type a plate and state, or scan a VIN, and the year, make, model, trim and engine fill in. The vehicle keeps its history and its next-due date.
  • One click puts a mechanic's stops in order on real drive times, and every van's day sits on one map.
  • A native iPhone and Android app with the day's stops, one-tap navigation, the on-my-way text, photo inspections, the van's stock, the time clock and payment.
  • No signal? Status, inspections with photos, mark complete, line items, cash and check and the clock still work, and sync when the signal is back.
  • Online booking where the customer types their own plate, held to your hours, your service area and how many vans are working.
  • Get paid before you pull away: keyed card, card on file, text-to-pay, Apple Pay, PayPal, Venmo or ACH, synced to QuickBooks Online.
  • Starts at$49 a month
  • Trial14 days free, no card
  • ContractMonth to month, no contract, no onboarding fee
  • AppsiPhone and Android

The Other Seven, and Who Each Is Built For

2. Housecall Pro

64.0 / 100

The best home-service app here, with texting and area-limited booking from $79; equipment is tracked per property, and offline is view-only.

  • Built forHome service businesses: HVAC, plumbing, electrical and more
  • Entry planBasic, $79/month
  • Best forHVAC, plumbing, electrical and other home-service crews.
Read the Housecall Pro review

3. Jobber

57.5 / 100

Friendly home-service software built around clients and properties; routing from $139 and two-way texting from $199.

  • Built forHome and commercial service businesses
  • Entry planCore, $49/month
  • Best forLawn care, cleaning, HVAC and other work tied to a property rather than a vehicle.
Read the Jobber review

4. Tekmetric

56.5 / 100

Polished repair shop software with plate decoding; built for bays, with no published routing and texting from $439.

  • Built forAuto repair and tire shops, single or multi-location
  • Entry planStart, $199 a month
  • Best forA repair shop with bays and several technicians, since every plan has unlimited users.
Read the Tekmetric review

5. Workiz

56.0 / 100

Routing and booking on every plan, but annual contracts from $275 and texting sold separately.

  • Built forResidential and commercial home service businesses
  • Entry planStandard, $275/month billed annually (in its llms.txt; pricing page says request pricing)
  • Best forHome-service companies that want phones, payments and dispatch from one vendor on a yearly contract.
Read the Workiz review

6. Orderry

54.0 / 100

Cheap repair-counter software with an app on every plan; no published routing or offline mode, and booking that never asks for an address.

  • Built forRepair shops and small businesses, from electronics to auto
  • Entry planHobby, $39 a month
  • Best forA small repair counter (electronics, devices or a small auto shop) on a tight budget.
Read the Orderry review

7. Shopmonkey

53.0 / 100

A capable shop system with a tech app and texting from $239; no published routing, offline mode or service-area booking.

  • Built forAuto repair shops, with a page for mobile mechanics
  • Entry planBasic, $239 a month
  • Best forAn independent repair shop that wants texting and a tech app in its first plan.
Read the Shopmonkey review

8. AutoLeap

45.0 / 100

Plate decoding on every plan, but the native app needs the $449 Elite plan and there is no free trial.

  • Built forAuto repair shops, with pages for mobile mechanics and quick lube
  • Entry planEssentials, $199 a month
  • Best forA repair shop that will buy the top plan and wants parts, labor and the shop in one system.
Read the AutoLeap review

What It Costs a Mobile Mechanic

List prices only, from each vendor's pricing page, for one mechanic who wants a phone app, the day's route and two-way texting. Promotions and quotes are left out.

AppPlan you would needPer monthWhat that buys, and what it does not
Mobile Service SyncCore$49App, one-click routing, two-way texting, booking, plate lookup and review requests all included. Month to month.
OrderryStartup$69 + TwilioApp on every plan; texting through your own Twilio account from Startup. No routing published.
Housecall ProEssentials$189Route sequencing starts here (reorder by drive time is on MAX, $329). App and texting included.
JobberGrow$199Routing from Connect ($139), two-way texting from Grow. Review requests are the $99 Marketing Suite.
ShopmonkeyBasic$239Tech app and unlimited texting included. No routing published; booking is a $349 add-on.
WorkizStandard$275 + Genius PhoneBilled annually on an annual contract. Two-way texting is Genius Phone, sold separately.
TekmetricScale$439Two-way texting starts on Scale. No routing published; booking is a $345 add-on.
AutoLeapElite$449The native app needs Elite. Setup fee unpublished, minimum annual commitment, no free trial.

Questions Mobile Mechanics Ask

What is the best app for a mobile mechanic?
Mobile Service Sync is the best mobile mechanic app we have scored. It is built around the vehicle, with license plate to VIN lookup on every plan, it orders each mechanic's stops by drive time with one click, its iPhone and Android app keeps working with no signal, and it starts at $49 a month with no contract.
Can a mobile mechanic use repair shop software like Tekmetric or Shopmonkey?
Yes, for repair orders and inspections, but it is built for a building with bays. Neither publishes a way to put a day of driveways in drive order, and their booking does not hold customers to a service area. A mobile mechanic ends up running the road from a second app or a map.
What should a mobile mechanic app do with no signal?
It should let you finish the job. In Mobile Service Sync the day's jobs download to the phone, and job status, inspections with photos, marking a job complete, line items, cash and check payments and the time clock all work offline, then sync with the time they were tapped. Card payments and texts wait for signal.
How much does a mobile mechanic app cost?
From $49 a month for Mobile Service Sync's first plan, which includes the app, routing, booking, texting and plate lookup. Repair shop software starts around $199 a month, and some of it keeps the phone app or texting on a higher plan; the cost table above lists what each one takes.
Is there a free app for mobile mechanics?
None of the apps ranked here has a free plan for running a business. Most offer a free trial instead; Mobile Service Sync gives 14 days with every feature and does not ask for a card.
Who publishes this ranking?
Mobile Service Sync publishes this site and ranks its own app first. Every fact about another app comes from that app's own website and is linked on its review, and the scoring rules are published on How We Score.